Skip To Main Content
Barstow Unified School District Logo


BUSD English Language Proficiency Assessment for California (ELPAC) 

See the State Assessment Programs webpage for the administration schedules. 


English Language Proficiency Assessment for California (ELPAC )

The ELPAC is the required state test for English language proficiency (ELP) that must be given to students whose primary language is a language other than English. State and federal law require that local educational agencies administer a state test of ELP to eligible students in kindergarten through grade twelve. The California Department of Education (CDE) transitioned from the California English Language Development Test (CELDT) to the ELPAC as the state ELP assessment in 2018. The ELPAC is aligned with the 2012 California English Language Development Standards. It consists of two separate ELP assessments: one for the initial identification of students as English learners (ELs), and a second for the annual summative assessment to measure a student’s progress in learning English and to identify the student's level of ELP.

ELPAC Webpage



California English Language Development Test (CELDT)

Students in kindergarten through grade twelve whose home language is not English are required by law to take an English skills test. In California, the test is called the CELDT.

This test helps schools identify students who need to improve their skills in listening, speaking, reading, and writing in English. Schools also give the test each year to students who are still learning English.

  • For more information about the CELDT, contact your local school district.
  • The CELDT - CalEdFacts page provides a more detailed overview of the test.
  • The links and information below were developed for educators and others who are directly involved with the CELDT.




ELPAC Website

ELPAC California Department of Education Webpage


Webpage maintained by Instructional Support Services