Skip To Main Content
Barstow Unified School District Logo

California Content Standards

Common Cores State Standards (CCSS)


Common Core State Standards (CCSS) BUSD Public Information Webpage

Public information and resources related to Common Core State Standards.

What are common core standards?

Educational standards describe what students should know and be able to do in each subject in each grade. In California, the State Board of Education decides on the standards for all students, from kindergarten through high school. The California Department of Education helps schools make sure that all students are meeting the standards.

Since 2010, 45 states have adopted the same standards for English and math. These standards are called the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). Having the same standards helps all students get a good education, even if they change schools or move to a different state. Teachers, parents, and education experts designed the CCSS to prepare students for success in college and the workplace.